2021 ASWA All-State Football Honors

2021 ASWA All-State Football Honors

Marla Jones, Managing Editor


MONTGOMERY, Ala.-- The Alabama Sports Writers Association (ASWA) recently announced their selections for All-State Football Teams.

The team is selected by ASWA’s prep committee through coaches’ nominations that are sent to local sportswriters.  The committee will announce three finalists for back and lineman for each of the seven Alabama High School Athletic Associations (AHSAA) classifications on December 26, 2021.

Finalists will be honored at the annual Player of the Year banquet in Montgomery on January 13, where the back and lineman of the year in each classification will be announced. Mr. Football will also be announced during the ceremony. 

Below are athletes from DeKalb and Jackson County that were honored:

Class 6A First Team All-State

PK: Alex McPherson, Fort Payne, Sr.

Class 3A First Team All-State

OL: Tucker Wilks, Fyffe, Freshman

DL: Austin Mulligan, Fyffe, Sr.

Class 3A Second Team All-State

WR: Sawyer Hughes, Sylvania, Sr.

Class 3A Honorable Mention:

QB: Brody Smith, Sylvania, Sr.

Class 2A Second Team All-State

OL: J.D. Martin, Pisgah, So.

Class 1A First Team All-State

RB: Ethan Bain, Valley Head, Jr. 

Leave a comment