Plainview Lady Bears Win County Championship

Plainview Lady Bears Win County Championship

Marla Jones, Sports Editor

DEKALB COUNTY, Ala.-- The DeKalb County Basketball Tournament was held last week.  The Plainview Girls won the tournament championship on Saturday night in a nail-biter game against the Sylvania Rams, 55-51. 

Eight DeKalb County Teams battled it out during the Tournament.  On the first night of play, Monday, January 16, the (2) Ider Lady Hornets took on the (7) Valley Head Lady Tigers.  Ider defeated Valley Head 66-49. The (1) ranked Plainview Lady Bears defeated the (8) ranked Crossville Lady Lions, 71-16, in the second game of the night. 

On the second night of the DeKalb County Tournament the (4) Geraldine Lady Bulldogs defeated the (5) Collinsville Lady Panthers, 44-40.  (3) Sylvania Lady Rams defeated the (6) Fyffe Lady Devils, 55-46. 

In the Semi-Finals of the DeKalb County Tournament, Plainview defeated Geraldine, 78-39. Sawyer Hulgan led the Lady Bears with 18 points for the night.  Gracie Rowell followed closely with 16 points against the Lady Bulldogs. Lili Ramirez led the Geraldine Bulldogs with 12 points for the night.  Hallie Burns finished the game with 10 points. 

In the second game of the Semi-Finals, Sylvania defeated Ider, 55-30. Anna Murdock led the Lady Rams with 17 points. She was followed closely by Leianna Currie with 16 points. 

Kennzie Smith led the Ider Lady Hornets with 16 points. 

The Plainview Lady Bears defeated the Sylvania Lady Rams, 55-51, in the Championship Game held at the DeKalb County Schools Coliseum on Saturday night. 

Lauren Jimmerson led the Plainview Lady Bears in the Championship Game with 16 points.  Kami Sanders had 13 points for the night. Other Lady Bears who scored were: Sawyer Hulgan (8), Gracie Rowell (6),  Griadin Haas (6), Saydi Jackson (4), and Ali Price (1). 

Leianna Currie led the Sylvania Lady Rams in the Championship Game with 17 points.  Ambriel Stopyak and Anna Murdock had 11 points in the game.  Other Lady Rams who score were Lilley Frost (8), Kirby Wisner (3), and Harlee Turner (1). 

Leave a comment