Primary Runoff 2022

Primary Runoff 2022

Marla Jones, Managing Editor

ALABAMA-- On Tuesday, June 21, voters will cast their ballots in the runoff election.  The votes will determine who will represent each party in the November 6 General Election. 

There are six statewide races with runoffs:


In the Democratic primary, retired educator Yolanda Flowers of Birmingham received 33.87% of the vote and State Senator and attorney, Malika Sanders Fortier of Selma, received 32.52%.  The winner will face Republican incumbent Alabama Gov. Kay Ivey, in the November election.

U.S. Senate

The Alabama U.S. Senate race will determine who will replace Sen. Richard Shelby, who is retiring. 

Candidates Katie Britt, Shelby’s former Chief of Staff received 44.75%.  U.S. Rep. Mo Brooks received 29.15%. The winner will face Democrat,  Will Boyd and Libertarian candidate, John Sophocleusnin the November election.

Secretary of State

Republican candidates, State Rep. Wes Allen of Troy, received 39.7% of the vote with State Auditor Jim Zeigler, who received  42.69% in the primary.  The winner of the Republican Primary will face Democrat Pamela J. Laffitte and Libertarian candidate Jason “Matt” Shelby. 

State Auditor

Jefferson County pastor Stan Cooke received 32.79% and State Rep. Andrew Sorrell received 39.46% of the votes in the May primary. The winner of the runoff will face Libertarian candidate Leigh LaChine.  No Democrat ran for this office. 

The winner will replace State Auditor Jim Zeigler, who was term-limited and is running for Secretary of State. 

Public Service Commission Place 1:

Commissioner Jeremy Oden received 34.3% of the vote in the May primary and Federal Prosecutor Brent Woodall received 30.9% of the vote.  The winner will face Libertarian Ron Bishop in the November election.  No Democrats ran for this seat. 

Public Service Commission Place 2:

Commissioner Chip Beeker, who received 43.1% of the vote will face Robert L. McCollum who received 35.84% of the vote.  The winner will face Libertarian candidate Laura Lane in the Nov. 8 General Election.  No Democrats ran for this seat. 

Polls open at 7 a.m. and will close at 7 p.m.

Leave a comment