Fort Payne Decides 2020-24 Administration

Fort Payne Decides 2020-24 Administration

By Zach Hester, Reporter •

Pictured (L to R): Fort Payne City Councilmembers for the 2020-24 term Johnny Eberhart, John Smith, Lynn Locklear Brewer, Phillip Smith, and Walter Watson, as well as Fort Payne Mayor-elect Brian Baine. (Zach Hester | Southern Torch)

FORT PAYNE, Ala. — The citizens of Fort Payne have spoken. 

On Tuesday night, eight candidates participated in the municipal election runoff for the final four seats on the Fort Payne City Council. 

In the initial race, Walter Watson was the only candidate to reach the 50% threshold to avoid participation in a runoff. Watson will be sworn in alongside fellow 2020-24 Council members Lynn Locklear Brewer (incumbent), Johnny Eberhart (incumbent), John Smith, and Phillip Smith. Mayor-elect and current City Council President Brian Baine will be sworn in at the same time later this year.

Here are the final vote tallies for each candidate that participated in Tuesday night's runoff election: 

  • Lynn Locklear Brewer: 814
  • Johnny Eberhart: 840
  • Randall Ham: 792
  • Wade Hill: 768
  • Roger Ingle: 763
  • Charlene Magbie: 707
  • John Smith: 1068
  • Phillip Smith: 956

Leave a comment