DeKalb Holds Municipal Elections

DeKalb Holds Municipal Elections

By Zach Hester, Reporter •

DeKALB COUNTY, Ala. — On Tuesday, citizens around DeKalb County made their voices heard by voting in their respective town’s or city’s municipal elections. For video coverage sponsored by PuroClean and Cable Time, please visit Southern Torch on Facebook.

Here are the full results of Tuesday night’s election: 


No elections were held in the Town of Collinsville as all incumbents went unopposed. Current Mayor Johnny Trafenstedt, as well as Councilmembers Kathy Jelks (district 1), Donna Jones (district 2), David Bowen (district 3), Janet Osborn (district 4), and Jeff Chandler (district 5), will hold on to their respective offices for another four years. 


In the race for Crossville Mayor, Roger “Dino” Richards defeated incumbent Tera Fortenberry by a slim margin of five (5) votes. The following people were elected to the Crossville Town Council: Nelson Ferrell (incumbent, place 1), Misty Spence (place 2), Larry Colvin (place 3), Lisa D. Collins (place 4), and Steven Smith (place 5). 

Fort Payne

In the race for Mayor of Fort Payne, City Council President Brian Baine went unopposed and will serve a four-year term. In the city’s at-large council election, Walter Watson was the only candidate who reached the threshold of 50% to avoid participation in a runoff election. He will return to the Council in November. The final four (4) places on the Fort Payne City Council will be decided by a runoff election to be held on October 6, 2020. 

According to City Clerk Andy Parker, the “Local Act” legislation passed by the City of Fort Payne states that the city follows the state formula for determining 50%, which is taking the total number of votes and dividing it by the number of positions in play. Therefore Watson will automatically take one seat on the Council since he crossed that threshold. The other eight (8) candidates vying for the last four seats are  Phillip Smith, Johnny Eberhart, Randall Ham, Wade Hill, Lynn Brewer, Charlene Magbie, Roger Ingle, and John Smith.


In the race for Mayor of Fyffe, incumbent Paul Cagle defeated challenger Jonathan Bartlet. The following people were elected to Fyffe Town Council: James Spears (incumbent, place 1, unopposed), Katy Woodall (incumbent, place 2, unopposed), Gerald Green (incumbent, place 3, unopposed), Chris Graben (place 4), Dale Wooten (incumbent, place 5, unopposed). 


In the race for Mayor of Geraldine, incumbent Chuck Ables was unopposed. In an at-large race for Geraldine Town Council, the following individuals were elected: Tim Gilbert, Larry “Punch” Lingerfelt (incumbent), Scott Tarrant, and Tony Taylor. The final seat on the council will be decided between incumbent Stanley Rooks and Joey Satterfield, who received the exact same amount of votes after absentees were counted. According to the Geraldine Town Clerk, the final results of that race will not be decided until all seven (7) provisional ballots are counted next week to determine if a runoff is necessary. Southern Torch will keep you up-to-date on those developments. 


No elections were held in the Town of Hammondville as all incumbents went unopposed. Councilman John Moore was elected Mayor of Hammondville with no opposition, while Trey Moore (place 1), Jennifer Barker (place 2), Johnny Ferguson Jr. (place 3), Felicia Harrison (place 4), and Tammy Brown (place 5) will serve on the Town Council for the next four years.


In the race for Mayor of Henagar, incumbent Lee Davis was unopposed. The following people were elected to the Henagar City Council, Winston Busby (incumbent, place 1, unopposed), Joy Dixson (incumbent, place 2, unopposed), Tara Kirby (place 3), Angie Davis (place 4), and Jeff McCurdy (incumbent, place 5, unopposed). 


In the race for Mayor of Ider, incumbent Wendy Lassetter defeated challenger Jimmy Wayne Powell. All five Council places in Ider were unopposed, and the following people were elected to the positions: Melissa George (incumbent, place 1), Michael Wooten (incumbent, place 2), Dewayne Chapman (incumbent, place 3), Sharlyn Uber (incumbent, place 4), and Roger Wooten (place 5). 


Incumbent Mentone Mayor Rob Hammond was unopposed and will serve another four-year term. The following people were elected to the Mentone Town Council: John Verdon (incumbent, place 1, unopposed), David Allgood (place 2), Hobson Kirby (incumbent, place 3, unopposed), Ray Padgett (incumbent, place 4, unopposed), and Gerald Bailey (incumbent, place 5, unopposed).


Incumbent Rainsville Mayor Rodger Lingerfelt was unopposed and will serve another four-year term. The following people were elected to the Rainsville City Council: Arlan “Monk” Blevins (place 1), Bejan Taheri (incumbent, place 2), Rickey Byrum (incumbent, place 3), Brandon Freeman (incumbent, place 4, unopposed), and Derek Rosson (incumbent, place 5).


No elections were held in the Town of Shiloh. Incumbent Mayor Rodney Phillips was unopposed and will serve another four-year term. All incumbent Council members will serve another term as well, they are: Nathan Neil, Jim Tumlin, Brad Graben, Tracey Monroe, and Mike Light. 


In the race for Sylvania Mayor, Terry McClendon defeated Thomas Miller. The following people were elected or re-elected to the Sylvania Town Council: Matthew Gant (incumbent, place 1, unopposed), Claude Callaham (incumbent, place 2), Denny Smith (incumbent, place 3, unopposed), Gary Ferguson (incumbent, place 4, unopposed), and Larry Bailey (incumbent, place 5, unopposed). 

Valley Head

In the race for Mayor of Valley Head, Michael Key defeated Jacob Brown. The following people were elected or re-elected to serve on the Valley Head Town Council: Karen Vest (place 1), Adele Phillips (incumbent, place 2, unopposed), Jack Martin (incumbent, place 3, unopposed), Dean Freeman (place 4), and Chris Busby (place 5). 

All municipal election results will be formally certified next week.

Leave a comment