Summer Burn Ban Goes Into Effect

Summer Burn Ban Goes Into Effect

By Marla Jones, Managing Editor •

DEKALB COUNTY, Ala. — The Alabama Department of Environmental Management (ADEM) has issued its yearly burn ban for the following counties:  Baldwin, DeKalb, Etowah, Jefferson, Lawerence, Madison, Mobile, Montgomery, Morgan, Russell, Shelby, and Talladega went into effect on May 1.

The ban states that under ADEM regulations, non-agricultural burns are not allowed during the months of May, June, July, August, September, and October. 

The ban put into effect each May is to main good air quality in areas that are prone to smog.  The ban is to keep you and your community healthy.  

To comply with these restrictions the Alabama Forestry Commission will not issue burn permits for burns or for land clearing.  Permits will only be issued for wildlife, hardwood control, piled debris (for silvicultural site prep only), scattered debris, and agricultural. 

ADEM states that unless we fall under drought conditions or safety reasons within a community, outdoor fireplaces and campfires do not fall under the burn ban.

Leave a comment