Harris, Wootten Win Commission Races

Harris, Wootten Win Commission Races

By Zach Hester, Reporter • zach@southerntorch.com

PHOTO: The DeKalb County Activities Building where DeKalb County Commission meetings are held on every second and fourth Tuesday of the month. (File Photo)

DeKALB COUNTY, Ala. — Tuesday night's elections saw incumbent Republican Shane Wootten re-elected to another term for DeKalb County Commission, District 1, while challenger Terry Harris narrowly toppled incumbent Scot Westbrook for the District 2 seat. Both men won the Republican nominations for their seats.

Harris, who has served on the Geraldine Town Council since 2016, defeated Westbrook with 1,380 votes (51.92%) to the incumbent's 1,278 votes (48.08%). 

Wootten, who received 1,608 votes (56.30%) was elected to another term in District 1 over Joseph Lee, who received 1,248 votes (43.70%). 

No Democrats filed to run for either seat.

Leave a comment