Treasure in an old barn

Treasure in an old barn

By Dr. John E. Morgan

Pastor - Collinsville Baptist Church

It all happened because my parents and grandparents had a problem. They were hooked on home grown tomatoes.

Both houses always had huge tomato patches. Tomatoes to eat now. Tomatoes to can. And to make into other things.

Daddy planted tomato seeds from the previous year’s best tomatoes in milk cartons. They would grow on a window sill in the basement. Once planted, the tomatoes were weeded, watered and watched.

My parents had a new house with more land. They could have a bigger garden with more tomatoes.

Which brings me to a late spring day at my grandparents’ house. I was nineteen and had just finished my first year of college. I was an engineering student and had successfully taken calculus and chemistry. I was dating the prettiest girl in Nashville, my future wife Gloria. I thought I was something. Life was good.

My parents and grandparents were talking and I was ignoring. Mother said, “Butch, come here.” Uh oh.  “You need to go down to the old barn and get us some manure.” And the old barn had a lot of cow manure.

My grandmother said, “you’ll need to get the wheel barrow full a time or two for us and then fill up all the buckets for your mother to take home.” I truly thought that they were kidding. They could not expect me, now a college sophomore, to go dig manure. I had never had to do this before. Just because they now lived further in the country, why should I suffer. Dig manure? Me? That was obviously beneath me. Turns out they were serious.

Down the hill I went with the wheel barrow in the late Spring heat. To the barn. Muttering all the way. Becoming louder as I got further from the house.

“I cannot believe they want me to dig manure. Don’t they know who I am? I passed calculus. Lot of other students didn’t. I can do differential equations and they want me to dig manure. Unbelievable.”