Wigley & Seals Named New SROs

Wigley & Seals Named New SROs

By Marla Jones, Managing Editor • marla@southerntorch.com

FORT PAYNE, Ala. — (Full video at southerntorch.com) At Tuesday’s meeting of the DeKalb County Commission, Josh Wigley and John Seals were named as DeKalb County’s newest School Resource Officers (SRO). 

Wigley, a police officer at Rainsville Police Department, will be placed as the SRO at DeKalb County Technical School.

Seals, a Sylvania Police Officer, will be the SRO at Sylvania School. 

In the meeting, Deputy Director of the DeKalb County Emergency Management Agency (EMA) Michael Posey gave an update on the current COVID-19 cases in DeKalb County. At the time of press, DeKalb had 276 confirmed cases and five deaths. In the last 14 days, there have been 40 new cases reported. In the State of Alabama, there have been 13,508 cases that have made a full recovery. 

Posey asked the Commission for prayers for EMA Director Anthony Clifton, who was absent due to health reasons. 

County Administrator Matt Sharp presented the following retirements and transfers for the Revenue Office:

  • The retirement of Deb Stewart 
  • Brittany Crowe to move from Mapper 2 to Chief Mapper
  • Jaycee Palmer to move from Tags to Reappraisal
  • A vacant position to be posted for Tag Clerk

Sharp presented the following for the Road Department:

  • Promote Danny Norris to District 3 Crew Leader effective June 1
  • Promote William Childress to District 2 Crew Leader effective June 1
  • Hire Drake Casey to fill a vacancy in the unit crew
  • Hire Christopher Williams to fill a vacancy in District 3 

Sharp requested the following hires for the Sherrif’s Office:

  • Carl White as a transport deputy to replace Stephen Berry retroactive to June 1
  • Josh Wigley as a full-time SRO effective July 27
  • John Seals as a full-time SRO, effective July 27, to replace Billy Jack Blackwell who retired
  • Steven Jackson to replace Lyndell Elkins
  • Samuel McAlpin to replace Corrections Officer position vacated due to Sara Slaton’s promotion
  • Anthony Ciganek to replace Wrett Tyson
  • Sharp asked the Commission for the Resignation of  Lyndell Elkins and the termination of Wrett Tyson.

In other business the Commission approved the following:

  • Awarded  CR-51 Bid as part of the Rebuild Annual Grant to Wiregrass
  • Approved the Sylvania Industrial Road Project
  • Speed Limit Resolution on CR 676 to 25 mph
  • Speed Limit Resolution on CR 613 to 25 mph
  • Vacated portions of CR 628 (corner of CR 628/CR 625)
  • Garbage Exceptions
  • 2020 Back to School Sales Tax Holiday

The next meeting of the DeKalb County Commission will be held on July 14, 2020.

Leave a comment