Ballot Box Breakdown

Ballot Box Breakdown

PHOTO: (Zach Hester | Southern Torch)

By Zach Hester, Reporter

DEKALB COUNTY, Ala. — Voters across Alabama will head to the polls on June 5 to vote in the primary races of statewide and local candidates in either the Democratic or Republican Primary. The June will contain primaries for Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, and many others, including local and countywide races. Here is a brief breakdown of who will be on the June 5 ballot. To see a full sample ballot for either party’s primary, please see our website at

If you are unsure of what your state senate or state house district is, please visit and simply type in your address to see which race will appear on your ballot.

In the Republican Primary:

For Governor: Tommy Battle, Mayor of Huntsville; Scott Dawson; Bill Hightower, state senator; Kay Ivey, incumbent Governor; and Michael McAllister (who passed away in April 2018).

For Lieutenant Governor: Will Ainsworth, state representative; Twinkle Andress Cavanaugh, Public Service Commission President; and Rusty Glover, state senator.

For U.S. Representative (4th Congressional District): Robert Aderholt, incumbent Congressman, and Anthony Blackmon.

For Attorney General: Chess Bledsoe; Troy King, former Alabama Attorney General; Steve Marshall, incumbent Attorney General; and Alice Martin, Deputy Attorney General of Alabama.

For State Senate (District 8): Max D. Fuller and Steve Livingston, incumbent state senator

For State Senate (District 10): Mack Butler, state representative, and Andrew Jones.

For State Representative (District 23): Parker Edmiston and Tommy Hanes, incumbent state representative.

For State Representative (District 27): Wes Kitchens and Ronnie Opolka.

For State Representative (District 39): TJ Maloney and Ginny Shaver.

For Secretary of State: Michael Johnson and John H. Merrill, incumbent Secretary of State.

For State Treasurer: David L. Black, Stephen D. Evans, and John McMillan, Alabama Agriculture Commissioner.

For State Auditor: Stan Cooke, Elliott Lipinsky, and Jim Zeigler, incumbent State Auditor.

For Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries: Tracy “T.O.” Crane; Gerald Dial, state senator; Cecil Murphy; and Rick Pate, Mayor of Lowndesboro.

For Circuit Court Judge (9th Judicial Circuit, Place 2): Andrew Hairston, Scott Lloyd, and Jeff McCurdy.

For Circuit Clerk: Todd Greeson, former state representative, and Melissa Ledbetter, former Rainsville City Councilmember.

For DeKalb County Commission (District 3): Tony “Buck” Keef and Chris Kuykendall, incumbent Commissioner.

For DeKalb County Sheriff: Michael Edmondson and Nick Welden.

For DeKalb County Board of Education (District 3): Arlan “Monk” Blevins, Carol Hiett, and Jeff Williams, incumbent Board member.

For DeKalb County Board of Education (District 4): Monty Darwin, Hazel Haynes, and Matt G. Sharp, incumbent Board member.

In addition to these many races, there are also races for Alabama Supreme Court, Civil Appeals Court, Criminal Appeals Court, Public Service Commission, State Board of Education, State Republican Executive Committee, and DeKalb County Republican Executive Committee. There will also be several amendments to be voted on.

In the Democratic Primary:

For Governor: Sue Bell Cobb, former Chief Justice of the Alabama Supreme Court; Christopher A. Countryman; James C. Fields, former state representative; Walt Maddox, Mayor of Tuscaloosa; Doug “New Blue” Smith; and Anthony White.

For U.S. Representative (4th Congressional District): Lee Auman and Rick Neighbors.

For Attorney General: Chris Christie and Joseph Siegelman.

For Secretary of State: Lula Albert “SGM Ret” and Heather Milam.

In addition to these races, there will also be races for State Democratic Executive Committee, District 23 (Female and Male) and State Democratic Executive Committee, District 27 (Male). There will also be several amendments to be voted on.

If you have not registered to vote, please do so by May 21 in order to be eligible to vote in the June 5 primary for either party. You can register to vote by visiting the Alabama Secretary of State’s website.

Republican Sample Ballot

Democratic Sample Ballot