DeKalb County Runoff Elections

DeKalb County Runoff Elections

By Zach Hester, Reporter •

DeKALB COUNTY, Ala. — Citizens in Fort Payne, Geraldine, and Scottsboro returned to the polls today, Tuesday, October 6 to vote in the runoff elections for their respective municipal elections.

This post will be updated until full results are made official:

Fort Payne

After Walter Watson was the only candidate to reach the threshold of 50% of votes to avoid participation in a runoff election, the final four (4) places on the Fort Payne City Council were voted on between the following eight (8) candidates:

  • Lynn Locklear Brewer: 814
  • Johnny Eberhart: 840
  • Randall Ham: 792
  • Wade Hill: 768
  • Roger Ingle: 763
  • Charlene Magbie: 707
  • John Smith: 1068
  • Phillip Smith: 956


The final seat on the Geraldine Town Council was decided via runoff between incumbent Stanley Rooks and challenger Joey Satterfield, who had the exact same amount of votes after the election. All seven (7) provisional ballots were thrown out and a runoff became necessary. Here are the results of the race:

  • Stanley Rooks: 88
  • Joey Satterfield: 79


The final seat on the Scottsboro City Council was decided via runoff between Nita Tolliver and incumbent Council President Patrick Stewart, who has held Place 2 for the last eight (8) years. Here are the results of the race:

  • Patrick Stewart: 849
  • Nita Tolliver: 1,058

Leave a comment