DeKalb, Jackson, Cherokee, and Etowah Counties under Tornado Watch until 11 pm

DeKalb, Jackson, Cherokee, and Etowah Counties under Tornado Watch until 11 pm

PHOTO: Alert graphic from the National Weather Service regarding today's severe weather potential. (National Weather Service - Huntsville)

By Staff Reports

FORT PAYNE, Ala. — About an hour ago, the National Weather Service issued a tornado watch for DeKalb County, Cherokee County, and Etowah Counties until 11 pm. Latest reports indicate the storm may strike our area between 6 - 8 pm.

Marshall and Madison Counties were also placed under a watch. Thirty other counties throughout north and central Alabama were also placed under a watch.

The watch was issued for the following Alabama counties: 

Bibb, Blount, Calhoun, Cherokee, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Colbert, Coosa, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Greene, Hale, Jackson, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Morgan, Pickens, Randolph, Shelby, St. Clair, Sumter, Talladega, Tuscaloosa, Walker, and Winston Counties. 

As of 4:30 pm the NWS - Hunstville issued the following Severe Weather Outlook for our area: "Severe thunderstorms will develop this afternoon and spread eastward ahead of an approaching storm system. Large hail up to baseball size, damaging winds, and a few tornadoes across are expected for all areas in North Alabama and Southern Middle Tennessee. A strong tornado or two will be possible.

The severe weather risk will diminish quickly late this evening into tonight as the front pushes east of the area."

Click for Updated Radar: 


Earlier this morning, DeKalb County Schools and Fort Payne City Schools cancelled all after school activities: