DeKalb BOE makes placements, accepts resignations
May 24, 2018
Southern Torch (3842 articles)

DeKalb BOE makes placements, accepts resignations

By Marla Jones, Reporter

RAINSVILLE, Ala. — The DeKalb County Board of Education held its regularly scheduled meeting on May 24, 2018 at the DeKalb County Board of Education Facilities Building.

DeKalb County Commission President, Rickey Harcrow addressed the Board on the importance of having passing the Tax Renewal that will be on the June 5, 2018 ballot.  “Without this our system will suffer” stated Harcrow.

The Board approved the following:

Retirements/Resignations for the DeKalb County School System:

(Retirement) Janice Brown- Secondary Special Education at Fyffe High School effective 7/1/18


Sara Goodwin-Elementary Counselor-Plainview

Dustin Goodwin-P.E./Drivers Education-Plainview

Renee Farmer-Bus Driver-Collinsville

Brandi Chapman-Store Worker-Crossville

Sil Berry-CNP Worker-Crossville

Traci Roper-Head Varsity Girls Soccer Coach (Supplement Only)

The Board approved seven placements for the 2018-2019 school year:

Jesse Martin-Itinerant Special Education Teacher-Crossville High School

Richard Rutledge-Secondary Mathematics Teacher-Crossville High School

Molly Martin-Elementary P.E. Teacher-Crossville Elementary School

Heather Prince- EL Teacher-Collinsville High School (Retroactive Leave 4/20/18-5/29/18)

Crystal Sewell-Secondary Science Teacher-Geraldine High School

Heath Vincent-Secondary Social Science Teacher-Valley Head High School

Chris Davis-Band Director-Plainview

Coach Supplements approved as follows:

Renee Bearden-Varsity Volleyball Coach-Geraldine

Christy White-JV Girls/Varsity Girls Soccer Coach-Crossville

Dusty Darnell-Varsity Head Coach-Crossville

Ryan Clark-Head Baseball Coach-Sylvania

Kyle Finch-Head Girls Basketball Coach-Sylvania

Heath Vincent-Head Football Coach-Valley Head

Placements for Summer School:

Tracy Tidmore

Belinda Jolley

Jason Willoughby

Mark McMahon

LaKala Willingham

Karen Kirk

Rebecca Dean

Ronald Anderson

Brenda Vaughn

Melissa Baldwin

Betty Bowman

For the Summer Programs:

Moon Lake-21st Century

Kelbi Ballenger-Teacher

Karen Prestwood-Teacher

Paula Easter-Art Teacher

Mary Lance-Teacher/Bus Driver

LeeAnn Hulgan-Aide

John Kincer-Bus Driver

Cindy Wilks-CNP Lead Worker

Selina Alexander-CNP Worker

Crossville Summer Program

Jennifer Bankston-Teacher

Laura Smith-Teacher

Felicia Mayfield-Teacher

Daniel Bryant-Teacher

Haley Harbour-Teacher

Kimberly Osborn-Teacher

Regina Jones-Jumpstart Teacher

Samantha Flaherty-Jumpstart Teacher

Amanda Beth Gillispie-Sub Teacher

Leah Richards-Nurse

Marcie Crump-Bus Driver

Tammie Mountain-Bus Driver

James Handley-Sub Bus Driver

Karen Holcomb-Sub Bus Driver

San Juana Garcia-Student Aide

Bris Torres Hernandez-Bilingual Aide

Issac Dismuke-Bilingual Aide

Pauline Fountain-CNP Lead Worker

Judy Hall-CNP Worker

Kimberly Wilkes-CNP Worker

Collinsville 21st Century

Jacqueline Clanton-Director

Lorilyn Owen-Teacher

Patsy Chambers-Teacher

Amber Whitton-Teacher

Kayla McAteer-Teacher

Amy Thompson-Teacher

Holly Sparks-Teacher

Chassidy Griggs-Teacher

Penny Brown-Aide

Elizabeth Barrientos-Student Worker

Genella Troxtel-Nurse

Dawn Price-Bus Driver

Tracey Hulgan-Bus Driver

Kristen Bates-Sub Teacher

Tracey Hulgan-Sub Teacher

Kelly Hayes Shirley-Sub Teacher

The Board addressed the need for Adult CNP lunch prices to increase.  Board employees will pay $3.55 and visitors will be charged $4.05.

The date of the next board meeting was changed to June 12, 2018.  Work session will begin at 4:00 p.m. and meeting will be at 5:00 p.m. at the Facilities Building.

Southern Torch

Southern Torch


No Comments Yet! You can be first to comment this post!

Write comment

Your data will be safe! Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person. Required fields marked as *