Commission Welcomes New Sheriff
January 10, 2019
Southern Torch (3791 articles)

Commission Welcomes New Sheriff

By Marla Jones,Managing Editor •

DEKALB COUNTY, Ala. — The DeKalb County Commission held their first meeting of the new year on Tuesday, January 8, 2019. In the absence of Commission President Ricky Harcrow, President Pro-Tem Chris Kuykendall conducted the meeting. 

DeKalb County Road Superintendent Tom Broyles gave the Commission a maintenance update. He asked for patience while the Road Department dealt with flood problems that have occurred over the last few weeks. He reported no major washouts but a few small problems, especially on unpaved roads.

Broyles hoped that the worst was behind his department and pledged to continue working on these issues. In personnel, Broyles asked the Commission to approve the hire of Mark Dawson for the position within the Road Department that had been open for nearly two months. 

DeKalb County Engineer Ben Luther presented the Commission with the traffic striping proposal award. 

Luther stated that the District 1 Commissioner Shane Wooten had requested that County Roads 137, 140, and 141 be restriped due to the sealer that was applied. The recent wet weather made the roads too dark. He sent out proposals and the lowest bid was awarded to J.C. Chee in the amount of $22,372.50. The Commission approved the bid. 

Michael Posey of the DeKalb County Emergency Management Agency addressed the Commission that due to the transfer of Matt Martin to the DeKalb County Sheriff’s Office, an opening was made in the Safety Coordinator position. Posey asked to join as a co-coordinator alongside Irby Wallace, which the Commission approved through a resolution. 

District 2 Commissioner Scot Westbrook stated that there was a resignation in his district for the DeKalb Ambulance Service Board (DAS), which he asked to appoint Tony Taylor. The motion was approved by the Commission.

The Commission made another appointment to the Northeast Alabama Water Board due to the passing of Bill Richards. James May was approved by the Commission to take his place.

Chris Burt was named the Fleet Manager for DeKalb County. 

The Commission officially named February 22-24, 2019 as the Severe Weather Preparedness Tax Holiday.

Sheriff Nick Welden made his first appearance before the Commission as DeKalb County Sheriff. He announced numerous retirements, resignations, and new hires.

When asked about his first week on the job, Sheriff Welden said, “On Sunday, I felt raw, like a raw piece of meat, but a couple hours later I was deep-fried.” Welden went on to introduce his new staff that attended the meeting with him: Matt Martin (Chief Communications Officer, EMA Liaison), David Smith (Chief Jail Administrator), Tyler Pruett (Public Information Officer), and Brad Gregg (Chief Deputy). 

  • The retirements and resignations were: Michael Edmondson, Jonathan Langley, Tiffany Graham, Ricky Higdon, Gary Hill (Part-Time), Gerald Taylor (Part-Time), Tony Blackwell, Jake Fowler, Shannon St. John, Shari Butler 
  • New hires: Brad Gregg, David Smith, Tyler Pruett, Kevin Akins, Wilbur Dunlap, Divell Bell, David Davis, Nick Brown, Dalton Veal, Jackie Tanner, Ron Ogletree
  • Transfers: Matt Martin from the DeKalb County Emergency Management Agency, Wesley Greeson from School Resource Officer to Investigator, Priscilla Padgett from Part-Time Deputy to School Resource Officer

The next meeting of the DeKalb County Commission will be held on Tuesday, January 22 at 10am in the DeKalb County Activities Building.

Southern Torch

Southern Torch


No Comments Yet! You can be first to comment this post!

Write comment

Your data will be safe! Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person. Required fields marked as *