BOE Approves Early Graduates
December 6, 2018
Southern Torch (3749 articles)

BOE Approves Early Graduates

By Marla Jones, Reporter • (Photo by Marla Jones)

DEKALB COUNTY, Ala. — The Dekalb County Board of Education met November 29, 2018.

After the approval of minutes from last session and a 2017, an audit presentation by Cade Burke of the State of Alabama Examiners of Public Accounts was made.

The Board then went into Executive Session to discuss the discipline, suspension and possible expulsion of two students.  The Board came back with a unanimous discussion to expel the students for the remainder of this school year and next.

As a suggested requirement for the Board for early graduates, Alexis Rhea Schlageter of Geraldine High School and Shelby Hope Pettis addressed the Board on their future goals and ambitions.  The Board commended the girls for their accomplishments and wished them the best of luck in all their endeavors.

The Board approved the following Early Graduates (pending the completion of all graduate requirements):

Collinsville High School: Miguel Arellano Jr., Natalie Barrientos Hernandez, Jyrah Campbell, Joshua Dutton, Peyton Hornbuckle, Cyranda Hughes, Paul Eugene Laster III, Christian Leath, Erick Leath, Emily Lozada, Billy Dean Nelson, Reace Osborn, Jennifer Portillo, Mark Roe, Jake Smith

Ider High School: Bennet Evan Strickland

Geraldine High School: Alexis Rhea Schlagester

Sylvania High School: Liara Rae Rafalowitz-Sionni, Timothy Gifford

Valley Head High School: Olivia Nanette Phillips

Fyffe High School: Shelby Hope Pettis

The Board accepted the bid from T.C. Fence Company, for the School Fencing and Gate Project, in the amount of $187,630.00.

The following retirements and resignations were accepted:

  • Deloris Thompson- Itinerant  Special Education Paraprofessional-Fyffe Special Services Center (12/1/18)
  • Beth Thomas-Assistant Custodian-Plainview High School-Resignation (11/30/18)

The following leave of absences were granted:

  • Holly Darnell-Elementary Teacher,Crossville Elementary School (11/26/18-4/30/19)
  • Brittany Graham-Pre-K Teacher, Crossville Middle School (11/19/18-3/22/19)
  • James Ernest Willingham. Jr.- P.E./Drivers Education Teacher, Collinsville (10/19/18-12/3/18)
  • Stacey Dover-Elementary Secretary, Plainview (8/1/18-1/2/19 Extension)
  • Jerry Poe-Bus Driver,Sylvania (8/20/18-1/3/19 Extension)
  • Deborah Harville -Bookkeeper, Fyffe (11/5/18-1/3/19 Extension)
  • Phil Sexton-Bus Driver, Geraldine (12/4/18-1/4/19)
  • Kathy Porter-CNP Manager, Ider (11/29/18-1/1/19)

The following placements were made:

  • Laura Ellis- Social Science Teacher-Collinsville High
  • Macy Smith-Elementary Teacher (Leave from 11/26/18-4/30/19)-Crossville Elementary
  • Tucker Davis-Secondary Math Teacher (Leave from 11/5/18-5/24/19) Geraldine High
  • Pam Hunt-Pre K Teacher (Leave from 11/26/18-2/4/19) Crossville Middle School


  • Jodie Barton-Itinerant Special Education Paraprofessional, Fyffe Special Services Center
  • Karen Holcomb-Bus Driver, Crossville
  • Sandra Byrum-Itinerant Special Education Paraprofessional, Plainview High School
  • April Fowler-School Nurse (9 months) Geraldine High School
  • Jennifer Wilson-Bus Driver, Fyffe

The following Volunteer Coaches were approved:


  • Jonnie Frost-Art
  • Meliah Blevins-Cheerleading
  • Leah Smith-Cheerleading


  • Brian Waldrop-Football
  • Jody Harper-Football
  • Jacob Wooten-Football
  • Shelby Brothers-Volleyball
  • Skylar Painter-Volleyball
  • Justin Murphy-Basketball
  • Whitney Brown Clark-Softball
  • Joshua Strange-Baseball


  • Eric Sanders-Basketball


  • Juan Ortega-Soccer

The next meeting of the DeKalb County Board of Education will be January 24, 2019 at 5:00 p.m.  The work session will begin at 4:00 p.m.

Southern Torch

Southern Torch


No Comments Yet! You can be first to comment this post!

Write comment

Your data will be safe! Your e-mail address will not be published. Also other data will not be shared with third person. Required fields marked as *